The history of the Copa Libertadores

The Copa Libertadores is the most prestigious club football competition in South America, and one of the most important in the world. Visit the website 1xBet – secure Kenya betting can always be made on this competition too.

The tournament was first contested in 1960 and has since become an iconic event in the sporting calendar of the continent.

The origins of the Copa Libertadores can be traced back to the 1950s. Here the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) was formed to oversee the sport in the region. CONMEBOL recognized the need for a continental competition to determine the best club team in South America, and the Copa Libertadores was born. At 1xBet Kenya it is possible to make secure betting on all editions of this exciting tournament too.

Humble beginnings

The Copa Libertadores is contested by dozens of teams during its editions. However, this contrasts greatly with the relatively humble beginnings that this competition had. If you like these major football competitions, you will be delighted to know that live bet online available on can be used to wager on them.

The first edition had only seven participants, which were:

  • Bahia;
  • Jorge Wilstermann;
  • Millonarios;
  • Olimpia;
  • Peñarol;
  • San Lorenzo;
  • and Universidad de Chile.

This first edition was won by Uruguayan team Peñarol. They defeated Paraguayan team Olimpia in an incredible final. There are live online betting options available on 1xBet, where punters can also wager on these teams.

Explosive growth

Over the years, the Copa Libertadores has grown in size and stature, attracting more teams and becoming more competitive. The tournament now features 32 teams from across South America, divided into eight groups of four. While waiting for the group stage of this tournament, visit and win with its collection of games.

The top two teams from each group advance to the knockout stages, which culminate in a single-legged final.

The Copa Libertadores has produced some of the greatest moments in South American football history. It has also been the stage for some of the continent’s most iconic players. Brazilian legend Pele won the tournament twice with Santos in the 1960s. Of course, Diego Armando Maradona also enjoyed great success in this incredible tournament. The best Brazilian and Argentinian teams are always available at the 1xBet website to wager.


BCLB №: 0000348


T@C apply

Play responsibly


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *